My Six Pack Journey – Day 2

Day 2 – September 23, 2008

If Day 1 was cautious, Day 2 was also on the similar lines though i did try to eat some more.

Breakfast – 2 chapatis (whole wheat Indian bread) 2 hard boiled eggs and 1 tbsp peanut butter. Milk n Tea – something i cant do without…my morning cuppa.

mid-morning 14 almonds

Lunch – Got adventurous here – Had a bowl of stir fried veggies with  Chicken n Broccoli in Kungpao Sauce. Something delicious for lunch.

Mid-evening – again my regular quota of almonds

Dinner – Chicken Sandwich and a Cappuccino (without sugar), I was out at a cafe so this was the best bet.

When i got home, couldn’t resist the sweets in the fridge. Had a piece a petha- famous sugary sweet from the land of the Taj Mahal – Agra.

That was Day 2. No training yet.

Slept well though – got 7 hours of sleep. Mood was pretty cheery throughout the day.

Cheers!

My Six Pack Journey – Day 1

Day 1 – Monday Sep 22, 2008

It was a working day and a Monday at that. I always pray to God to strike off Monday from the days of the week. It is the single most stressful day of the week. The whole thought of a truckload of work awaiting you is enough to give you jitters. Its all the more the difficult when you are trying to juggle your work with and equally arduous task of getting a six pack.

Now i have never had a six pack before.  So unlike some of you dudes who are trying to reclaim your lost six pack, i am trying to get a brand new one. Well I’m pretty positive that i will get there – In fact I have already achieved 16.67% success. I have a one pack 🙂 just another 5 to go.

Enough kidding.  Getting down to day 1 of my six pack journey, i believe in starting slow and steady. Hence today was not an all out day. It was just getting my body to start to eat more frequent meals. Cleaner meals. A List foods to the extent possible.

By the way, i need to mention a word about Vince Delmonte here. I am following his Your Six Pack Quest program. As i read in his book. Inch by Inch, Life is a Cinch, Yard by Yard, Life is Hard.

One of the important concepts that Vince tells us in his book is to marginal improvement. Be 1% better than you were yesterday. If you were a guy who has 2 cheeseburgers everyday, Make it 1.5 today. Progress slowly and surely and you will definitely get there.

So i got by Day 1 on an cautious, in fact overcautious note. In my quest not to eat any junk, i think my total calorie intake for the day was pretty low. Lets see what i did eat

Breakfast  – 2 slices Whole wheat bread sandwich with 2 hard boiled Eggs. 1 mug of tea with Milk and sugar (i know…the sugars must be cut down…)

Mid morning – 14 almonds

Lunch – 2 slices whole wheat bread tuna salad sandwich.

Mid evening – 14 almonds

Now this is where i fell off. My first meal was at home, which was fine. The other 3 – i had planned and was ready. Now i had no plan. I had to order food. I was so scared to eat something that Vince would not approve. I didnt eat anything until i got home at 11pm. Thats when i had a bowl of low fat yogurt.

So far so good. But could have been better. Need to plan more – eat more. Yup – learnt this the hard way. You will lose more weight when you eat more and not less…ofcourse along the way you must also maintain your calorie deficit.

So Wrap up on Day 1 – Nutrition – 2 out of 5. No training today.

I have to complete atleast 3 weight training workouts and 2 cardio workouts this week. Will get 4 of them on the weekend. Thats when i do most of my training. But will also need to squeeze a day in between.

Waiting for my october paycheck so that i can buy that treadmill ive been waiting for. Then surely my cardio workouts will be fun.

Till Then!

Cheers!